demand-EV-now

ACT NOW: We Need More EV Charging Stations in Charleston

“Charleston’s Climate Action Plan was adopted in May 2021 and is a 5-year strategic framework to reduce carbon pollution.  It includes 12 strategies and 51 action items for the City of Charleston and the entire community to pursue over the next 5 years which will put us on a path to reduce emissions 56% by 2030 and to net zero by 2050. ”

Included in the plan are two “high-priority” items related to electric vehicle (EV) infrastructure that many think should be addressed immediately.

Expand publicly-accessible electric vehicle charging infrastructure,
especially at ride share, mobility hubs, on-street peninsula access
and City parking facilities.

Create policy to require charging stations in new large commercial
construction and consider EV ready requirements for smaller
projects.

We need more EV chargers throughout the county but particularly on the Charleston Peninsula, where residential density and tourism are both increasing rapidly.

Here are some reasons why…

CLIMATE CHANGE

POPULAR DEMAND

WE ARE FAR BEHIND

Our current EV infrastructure is seriously lacking, relative to current demand, and will only get worse as demand grows if we do not act now.

wired.com/story/us-charging-network-electric-vehicle-needs/America Needs Way Way More Electric-Car Charging Stations


If we want to demonstrate our commitment to sustainable transportation and a healthier environment, while more effectively meeting growing demand from conscientious residents and tourists, common sense dictates that we need to address the “high priority” need for increased EV insfrastructure now.

ACT NOW: Let our city council know that we need more EV charging stations

DISTRICT NAME EMAIL PHONE
1 Boyd Gregg greggb@charleston-sc.gov 843-408-9798
2 Kevin Shealy shealyk@charleston-sc.gov 843-442-6680
3 Jason Sakran jasonsakrandistrict3@gmail.com 843-860-9080
4 Robert Mitchell mitchellro@charleston-sc.gov 843-853-2057
5 Karl Brady, jr. bradyk@charleston-sc.gov 757-576-3322
6 William Dudley Gregorio gregoriewd@charleston-sc.gov 843-720-1232
7 Perry Waring waringp@charleston-sc.gov 843-763-5388
8 Michael Seekings seekingsm@charleston-sc.gov 843-853-5353
9 Peter Shahid, Jr. peter@charlestoncitycouncil9.org 843-323-6474
10 Stephen Bowden bowdens@charleston-sc.gov 757-567-0907
11 Ross Appel appelr@charleston-sc.gov 843-343-7492
12 Caroline Parker parkerc@charleston-sc.gov 843-597-5900

 


SAVE TIME WITH OUR WEEKLY DIGEST
& NEVER MISS A POST!

Our website is 300% green - yours can be, too!
click for more info

PLEASE SHARE:
Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather